First family car - Automatic Petrol - Newbie86

I have just started looking for my first car and a bit confused due to the wide variety of options available. I have to admit that I am fairly new to vehicles and any help would be appreciated.

Key criteria -

Budget - Around 8-9k, Automatic, Petrol, decent rear leg room and boot space, family friendly with child seat to be fixed and not too high on insurance since it is my first car.

I was looking at a 2012 ford focus but the rear seats seems to be a bit cramped up. Any other cars that I could look at?

First family car - Automatic Petrol - SLO76
The problem you’ll encounter at this money is that many autos are actually highly complex automated manual gearboxes which are very prone to catastrophically expensive to fix problems. The Focus is sadly a big no no with their terribly weak Powershift gearbox as is anything from Skoda, Seat, Audi or VW with their DSG box.

I’d stick with Japanese cars with either a CVT box or a conventional torque converter set up. The Honda Civic 1.8, Mazda 3 and Toyota Auris 1.6 CVT are all safe bets.

Auto Trader:

www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/20180221395...9

Auto Trader:

www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/20180306429...3

Auto Trader:

www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/20180215373...2

Edited by SLO76 on 08/04/2018 at 16:19

First family car - Automatic Petrol - RobJP

As SLO says, really. Avoid anything by VAG and the Ford Powershift gearboxes, and by staying with the Japanese brands you'll have a good chance of getting something that's reliable.

First family car - Automatic Petrol - daveyK_UK
You are correct the Ford Focus is very cramped in the rear seats

Toyota Verso would be a good choice based on your criteria, likewise a Hyundai ix20 or Kia venga

The Hyundai and Kia petrol automatics are tourque converters and will be reliable

Avoid Ford automatics and VW/Seat/Skoda/Audi automatics