VW Golf - Changing OEM bulbs - Mark Wallace

I have been thiking about changing my bulbs (headlamp / indicator / reversing) on my Golf to brighter lights.

I had though about LED's but note that they appear not to be road legal.

What recommendations would you have for

headlamps

other bulbs

which are birght and last a long time. I note that some of the brighter headlamps have a shorter lifespam

Edited by Avant on 10/03/2018 at 23:19

VW Golf - Chaning OEM bulbs - Bolt

I had though about LED's but note that they appear not to be road legal.

I have been using them for several years for indicators -brake/sidelight and interior and all passed MOT, though not sure if any laws have changed but then new cars have them so they must be acceptable or they wouldnt fit them

VW Golf - Chaning OEM bulbs - gordonbennet

Depending on model i can understand wanting to improve the indicators, Golfs are among the worst designs for invisible indicators, front or rear if headlights or brake lights are on, whether the brighter bulbs will cure basic designs faults is questionable mind.

Both Philips and Osram make brighter legal headlight bulbs, i ran Philips for years and am currently on Osrams, no failures so far.

Osram also make some long life side light bulbs (W5W, so possibly others too), probably no brighter but you might find the existing ones are smoking the glass and new good ones will be better, the position of the dull (glass turning black) side light bulbs on my car makes them awkward for fitting so i paid the extra for long life hoping what it says on the package is true.

VW Golf - Chaning OEM bulbs - Mark Wallace

Which osram headlights are you running

VW Golf - Chaning OEM bulbs - RobJP

Do note that under the new MOT regulations, a lot of the brighter lamps may be deemed a an MOT failure, and replacing 'standard' bulbs with LEDs will almost certainly be a failure.

VW Golf - Changing OEM bulbs - Avant