2010 VW Polo - First long distance drive advice. - Jack Shepherd

So I've been driving for 7 months now and in the new year I'll be doing my first ever long distance drive from Chelmsford, Essex to Glasgow. My plan is that I'm working New years Eve and I finish just after 1 o clock new years day and I plan on leaving work then driving straight up to Glasgow as I doubt there will be anyone else on the road. My car is a 2010 1.4 vw Polo dsg. So I would just like some advice on planning and doing such a long journey, any advice would be grateful. Cheers

2010 VW Polo - First long distance drive advice. - expat

Go home and get a few hours sleep before you set off. Stop every two hours, take a break and walk around a bit. As soon as you start feeling tired get off the road and take a nap. Nodding off at the wheel is your biggest danger. That and drunks on the road. You have picked the worst possible night for drunks. Oh and take lots of podcasts, music etc. Boredom on a long drive like that is a big problem. As for the car - just the usual oil, water and tyres.

2010 VW Polo - First long distance drive advice. - gordonbennet

Unless you are used to it, the wee small hours which will last till near enough 8am till daylight are the killers, especially as you are working the night before.

Yes you could get some sleep before hand, but if you feel fresh enough after work it might be worth getting going and put a couple of hours under your belt, which should take you well up into thenorth whichever route you take, M11 A14 A1?.

Take a flask of boiling water and tea/coffee ingredients, and a blanket or two, cos by about 3/5am you may well be flagging, if you feel tired stop and make a drink, scoff some food, garages with microwaves and ginsters pies will be open so you won't starve, if you feel dog tired bed down for a few hours, preferably at a service station not in a layby in the middle of nowhere, low life's exist in real life.