BMW or Passat or Xtype or Audi for under £1200 - logger

First..I've had lots of cars including petrol , high milegae diesels etc so not generally all the pitfalls and arguments or petrols vs diesel etc as I will be doing about 6k miles a year

..BUT I dont know these cars..I have around £ 1200 to spend on a car which generally will be used locally, once a week to visit clients(50miles) and 2 or 3 times a year trips to cornwall(300miles)...

BMW 520i petrol

BMW 525D

VW Passat 1.9 Tdi

Jag XType 2.0D

Audi A4 1.9 Tdi

Saab 9-3 2.0 Petrol

I am not a mechanic but I have a brilliant independent guy that saves me money

Cheers

BMW or Passat or Xtype or Audi for under £1200 - RobJP

First, assume this :

Any 'executive' car that is for sale at this sort of price needs money spending on it. That is why it is for sale. If it's a private seller, then they're just wanting to get shut of it before the MOT comes round. If it's a trader, then they've bought it for £500 FROM a private seller who was desperate to get shot of it, or from the auctions where it had been dumped.

So, if you have £1200 to spend on a car, then you need to have another £1000 or so for the inevitable bill for something serious in the next few months.

That 'serious' thing might not be a failure. It might be the routine cambelt and waterpump on the 1.9 Tdi engined cars (£300 or so). Or it might be terminal.

Of course, you can skip the cambelt change. But they're a bit notorious for failure, and if they go, the car is scrap.

Buying a car such as this, at that price bracket, is a recipe for disaster.

BMW or Passat or Xtype or Audi for under £1200 - Theophilus

If you can only afford "up to £1200" you probably shouldn't be looking at any of these potential money-pits.

But ... if you are determined to risk spending more on repairs than the value of the car I would go for the Saab, my petrol 9-3s were very reliable (different story with the turbo-diesel).

Edited by Theophilus on 20/02/2017 at 14:05