Pet hates - mr_right
Am i just alone or is there other people who get annoyed when they arrive at a petrol station only to have to queue up to use a pump, when people in the queue are waiting to use a pump just because the petrol cap is on that side when others are free?

Do they not realise that the petrol pump reaches both sides of a car?

I was at the garage last night and had to queue up on the road outside just because people had blocked the entrance when there were pumps free but people weren\'t using then just because of the side of the car in which there caps are.

Does this annoy anyone else i was wondering?
Pet hates - DavidHM
Does the petrol pump reach both sides of the car? I am a skilled enough driver (not that you have to be very good to do this) to park 2" from the kerb with the back of my car aligned to the pump I want to use, and often the pump inexplicably doesn't reach.

As a result, I do queue in the situation you've described above, because if I go ahead and find out whether or not the pump will reach I'm blocking up the space for someone who could use the space until the car in front has gone and then have to rejoin the queue at the back.

It's annoying, but I blame the petrol companies more than the drivers, unless of course there is some reason why longer pumps are more dangerous than others.
Pet hates - henry k
I agree with DavidHM.
Plus trying to drag the hose from one side of the car to the other leaning over the boot lid of a saloon without scoring the paint with the hose is not easy. Then to find it does not reach HMMMM.
Risks to your back etc. hence I will queue.
Pet hates - Cyd
I agree with David and Henry. Pump hoses seem to have got shorter in recent years. I recently pulled into a Tesco fuel station in a hired Focus with the pump on the 'wrong' side - I obviously didn't park it with the necessary skill as I ended up having to move to another pump!!

The hoses could do with being about 12 to 18 inches longer IMO.
Pet hates - henry k