volvo s60 - Skidding Issue - Pete Trenholm
I have found that lately I have been experiencing light skidding on uneven surfaces whilst driving. I have 4 good tread tyres with the correct pressure around. I am not experiencing issues when braking. I find that when I drive over a non-smooth section of road (small holes, grates, joins in tarmac etc) that the car feels like it skates/skids very slightly...it does this on dry surfaces. The car does not veer off the road and is no out of control...it is just a sensation that the car is not holding onto the surface as it should. The only other clues I can offer is that there is a slight knocking noise on the rear, nearside. There is no untoward lean in the car around bends and braking is even.

Things that come to mind (I'm no expert but over the years have become familiar with things to watch out for!) are anti-roll bar and bushes (could explain the knocking), engine mount (but I think I would experience issues when going round bends etc), tracking/balancing (symptoms feel too pronounced for slight tracking issues), shock absorbers, bearing(s).

Any ideas, or other tests I could perform to rule things in or out?

Many thanks!
volvo s60 - Skidding Issue - gordonbennet

Possible something is adrift or worn that is causing wheel alignment issues over ground that causes the suspension to move a lot, or when one wheel meets higher friction resistance.

We will assume the standard wheel alignments are good and no odd wear developing on the tyres.

First thing to do is a check the wheelnuts are tight, then bounce test to check for worn shock absorber and you can listen for any odd noises.