Peugeot 207 - Sold with full service history but has none - JBlue1
Hello

I'm a bit of a newbie at this, but I bought a car that was badged for £5200 for £4000 with a trade in of my previous car. The Peugoet I bought was stated to have full service history, however when I got the car home I looked for the books (I know I should have done this at the shop) but they were not in the vehicle.

I called the person who sold me the car and they said that was fine they would send it out to me. I called a week later and they said it take 4 weeks for Peugeot to send out the books, so I waited and called back a month later.

Again they apologised and this time said that it would take 6 weeks for this to come through. And when I called again they said it would take another 6 weeks and they would call me. It's been four months.

I've added cruise control to the vehicle but driven 6000-7000 miles in that time

I don't know what to do, they will take the car back but I don't know if I'm getting screwed or what I should do

Any help will be appreciated

Cheers

Alex
Peugeot 207 - Sold with full service history but has none - RobJP

The question here is what is the difference in value between a car with full service history, and a car with no service history.

Useful information in determining that would be the age of the car, the mileage on the car when bought, if you bought the car retail (from a trader) or privately, if you have evidence that the car was advertised as having FSH.

Basically, you find out that difference in value, and write to them (recorded delivery), informing them that if they don't provide you with the service book OR the difference in value, then you will take them to Trading Standards / small claims court.

They will then either pay, ignore you (in the hope that you are bluffing), supply the book, or make a counter-offer.

You will then have to decide just how far you want to take the matter.