Ford Ka - Brakes & discs needed at a ridiculous cost - QuokkaChops
Evening all,

Am new to this forum and a new driver, apologies in advance if I make any noob errors!

I recently passed my test and was bought a Ford KA (53 plate)

I don't drive often as I don't need to but last week when I started my car and drove off I noticed the brakes were quite unresponsive.

My boyfriend (who works away for 2 months at a time and has just gone back) had a quick look and said that the brake pads and discs looked like they needed doing. I duly took my car to Halfords who said the car was dangerous to drive and that I needed the pads and discs replaced before I drove it again.

From looking at the average price I can buy the parts myself coupled with the time Ford state is adequate to change them I was not expecting to be told that new pads & discs would cost me £256!!

This sounds pretty steep to me, but, like I said I'm new to all this. Is this a fair amount?

The other thing that worried me a bit was whether they can refuse to give me my car back on the grounds that it's dangerous, he didn't say it in so many words but kind of insinuated he wouldn't let me drive it as it is too dangerous.

Any help or advice would be much appreciated!
Ford Ka - Brakes & discs needed at a ridiculous cost - elekie&a/c doctor

Sounds a little expensive to me.A local garage should be able to do this job for around half this price.It is about 1 hours work max.They cannot refuse to give the car back to you unless there is an outstanding unpaid bill.hth

Ford Ka - Brakes & discs needed at a ridiculous cost - daveyjp
New discs and pads on our Aygo were £140 at my local indie mechanic. Just about to get him to do my B class and it won't be much more. MB wanted £400!
Ford Ka - Brakes & discs needed at a ridiculous cost - gordonbennet