New Estate Tow Car - Clear Spot
My Omega 3.0 Elite Estate has just been rear ended, no-one hurt but its looking like an 'uneconomical to repair' situation. So its down to getting a replacement car pdq - before they take the rental car off me. Fortunately I took out Gap insurance so I should be o.k. financially.
My constraints are got to be auto, got to be estate and got to tow a 1500 kilo caravan comfortably long distance.
Apart from another Omega I am looking at late models V70 or Saab 9-5 Estate. I have a few concerns regarding towing with these.
1 - The V70 is fairly well documented as a decent two car, but anyone experience of towng with the V70 diesel auto.
2 - The Saab is an unknown quantity as a tow car - so any feedback would be useful. I have seen a 2.3 lpt estate which seems a good compromise.
Thanks
(p.s I don't really want to get into the 'wouldn't be seen dead in a Volvo debate')
New Estate Tow Car - terryb
Clearspot

I've no experience with either of these two choices but I do tow a similar weight caravan myself for long hauls through France and shorter local tows for rallies etc.

I'd have thought with an estate (ie comparatively long rear overhang) that self-levelling suspension would be an asset. What's your noseweight?

Previous XMs were excellent with self-levelling. Currently use a Jeep Grand Cherokee, which is superb, but I understand the image when not towing might put some people off! All have been auto and diesel - a perfect towing combination IMHO. Since I'm collecting a new caravan in a couple of weeks with a 120 Kg nose weight limit it'll need the Jeep's 140Kg noseweight ability anyway.

Glad to hear no-one was hurt but what a bind. I thought towbars were supposed to deter tailgaters!

Terry
Terry,