Renault Laguna Coupe - Help needed after test drive - maca1

Hi, I am thinking of buying a Laguna Coupe - 5 years old - 33k - 3 previous owners. Everything looks ok. Slight concern following test drive - feels a bit sluggish between 3rd/4th/5th gears although nothing dramatic. Also, oil looks a bit dirty and water in bottle is a bit 'tea coloured'. Also, not completely sure but it only has one exhaust pipe which does not look like the original and only one - the versions from 2010 have two - does anyone know whether the 2008 model had one or two?

Complete novice in respect of car mechanics. Car being sold by Jag garage who had it as a part exchange. Comes with three month warranty. Also gets MOTd by an independant garage prior to us picking it up. Spoke to sales man and expressed my concern - he said it had been through their mechanics who said it was ok but that he would get it checked specifically for the issues I have raised tomorrow.

Renault Laguna Coupe - Help needed after test drive - gordonbennet

If its a Diesel then the oil will be pitch black, in a petrol it should still be a golden colour but will get a little discoloured when nearing service time but should never turn black in a car of this mileage.

Which water is tea coloured, washer or coolant?, washer bottle might be going a bit stagnant and needs cleaning, that happens to mine as i seldom use the washers.

Coolant should be either green or pink/red, anything else and i'd be inclined to walk away, sure its not the translucent header (if fitted) tank giving a false impression of colour.

Exhaust i have no idea about and i haven't a clue what it should drive like, a Diesel will need to get to around 1600 to 2000rpm before power comes quickly on stream, below that it will seem sluggish.

3 owners seems one too many to me but it could indeed be right if it was originally a demo or perk car for 6 months, or had a personal plate fitted.