Evo v.i30 - "Middle Class" Speedsters - bintang

Julie Spence, outgoing Chief Constable of Cambridgeshire police, is quoted in the Daily Telegraph today as saying that "Speeding is middle-class... behaviour." I had not realised that there was a class dimension to speeding and I wonder how she established it. The term she uses is generally related to occupation. The middle classes are white collar workers, the working classes blue collar. This is not related to income and the ability to buy fast cars (though there can't me any current model that won't easily exceed 70 m.p.h.). I am a retired teacher, hence middle class. My son is a plumber, hence working class. He has earns more per month than I ever did and drives a Mtisubishi Evo while I have a Hyundai i30. Spence's comment could only make sense if she had established the "class" of speedsters in her patch. Otherwise, the faster she "outgoes" the better.

Evo v.i30 - "Middle Class" Speedsters - Collos25

How do these people get these jobs.

Evo v.i30 - "Middle Class" Speedsters - cheddar

Bintang, I get the point you are making, CC Spence's comments on speeding behaviour are a mass generalisation however your comments on class are likewise.

Also what has the Evo v i30 point got to do with it? I was cruising down the A303 last night at an indicated 75 ish and was overtaken by numerous vehicles with a fraction of the performance potential of my Focus ST. It is the driver that speeds excessively, not the car.

Edited by cheddar on 09/08/2010 at 11:24

Evo v.i30 - "Middle Class" Speedsters - bintang

I should have made clearer that Spence would not be able easily to define what class drivers belong to.

Evo v.i30 - "Middle Class" Speedsters - Armstrong Sid
By implication, is she also therefore saying that there aren't any (or very few) working class speeders?