This site hogging computer [Read Only] - WorkshopTech
I am getting reluctant to visit this site. It seems to tie my CPU up at almost 100% and slow my computer right down. I am running latest Firefox with popup blocker on and Flash disabled.
I am not a computer expert - what is going on and how can I fix it?

Edited by Dynamic Dave on 19/12/2009 at 01:45

This site hogging computer - bathtub tom
I'm running exactly the same software as you (Firefox update downloaded last night) and have no problems.

I'm no expert, but on a recent visit to friends who complained about their slow computer I gave it a defrag, uninstalled Norton and replaced it with AVG. That helped.
This site hogging computer - WorkshopTech
I'm no expert but on a recent visit to friends who complained about their slow
computer I gave it a defrag uninstalled Norton and replaced it with AVG. That helped.

Running ESET anti-virus. Computer is normally very fast, its ONLY on this site that it goes pear-shaped.
This site hogging computer - Falkirk Bairn
I am having similar issues over the lasy 7 days - seems linked to the adserver
This site hogging computer - maz64
how can I fix it?

Try the 'Report Website Problem' near the bottom of the page.
This site hogging computer - NARU
I find that the noscript addition makes a big difference
This site hogging computer - Lou_O
If you're running windows try this:

Open file:

C:\\Windows\\System32\\drivers\\etc\\hosts

And add this line to the bottom of the file

127.0.0.1 ads.honestjohn.co.uk

This should speed things up for you.

Edited by Lou_O on 18/12/2009 at 10:50

You can also add:

127.0.0.1 honestjohn.uk.intellitxt.com

to remove the Vibrant popups

You'll need to close and restart your browser to see changes.
This site hogging computer - theterranaut
I got the same post banned a year ago Lou! Watch out for the mods- ads= payment.

This seems to have done the trick. THanks. Should maybe be made a 'sticky'?