Jump starting issues on post 57 plate cars - sooty123
Is it true that cars 57 and onwards cannot be jump started, and if they are you risk a very large bill for a new ecu. I have heard stories of upto £5k. I don't know how true this is. What technical reason could there be for a jump start blowing the ecu?

Edited by Dynamic Dave on 03/12/2009 at 18:56

08 2.4 Jump starting issues on post 57 plate cars - sooty123
This questions isn't specifically for that car, it's just the headers couldn't be be left blank. Why are manufacturers making cars that are problematic to jump start?

{Sorted for you. The sticky post When Posting A New Question To Technical Matters explains what to do when your question isn't make.model specific}

Edited by Dynamic Dave on 03/12/2009 at 18:59

08 2.4 Jump starting issues on post 57 plate cars - Dave_TD
I'm not an expert but I've heard the same thing about newer lorries too. Voltage spikes perhaps?
08 2.4 Jump starting issues on post 57 plate cars - Dynamic Dave
Voltage spikes perhaps?

This can be prevented by doing the following:-

Connect the jump leads between the two vehicles. Earth connections on last, and off first. Do not connect the earth lead from the donor car to the car battery of the car receiving the jump. Connect it to somewhere like the engine block or other earthing point.

Start the engine of the vehicle providing the jump start.

After 5 minutes, start the other engine.

Start attempts should be made at intervals of 1 minute not last longer than 15 seconds.

After starting, allow both engines to idle for approx. 3 minutes with the leads connected.

In order to avoid excess voltage in the electrical system, before removing a lead, switch on an electrical consumer (e.g. light, heated rear window) in the vehicle receiving the jump start.

Disconnect the jump leads. Remembering, earth connections off first.

Edited by Dynamic Dave on 03/12/2009 at 19:10

08 2.4 Jump starting issues on post 57 plate cars - bell boy