Insurance - Business cover. - Chris79
Hello All,

I've just renewed our insurance and came across something that is a bit of a suprise to me. The Wife uses the car to drive to and from one place of work. she will however once in a while drive the car to a course or seminar (Possibly twice a year) when i told the insurance company this they replied that i needed Business insurance (At a cost of about an extra 20 pounds). I've paid this as i don't believe there's any point trying to save a few quid on insurance by being economical with the truth and then finding out they won't pay up in the case of an accident.

Having looked at a few other insurance companies they all seem to be doing the same.

How many people out there are aware of this I wonder. I've been driving for 13 years and always been very careful with insurance - yet this is the first i've heard of it.

Is this a new thing or have I just been buying the wrong insurance for the last few years?

Edited by Pugugly on 21/10/2009 at 16:17

Insurance - Pugugly
Its fair - if she works for a public authority they will insist that she has and is able to prove that she has business cover. I agree that some people may unwittingly be breaking the law in this respect.
Insurance - ifithelps
Agreed - the OP already has his answer from the insurance company - not worth taking any chances for £20.

But...

I wonder where someone who travels from home to more than one place of work stands?

I'm sure many of us work in a regional office and get called in to spend the odd day at headquarters.

Another example: I know staff who work at chain fast food restaurants and mobile phone shops are often deployed to another branch for a day or two now and again.

If that's all a worker is doing, I think it's a bit unreasonable to have to pay for business cover - a person can travel from home to more than one place of business.

Insurance - TheOilBurner
I wonder where someone who travels from home to more than one place of work
stands?