General Question - subframe damage - doobus
Hi - newbie here needing some advice/reassurance!

Had rear impact on my '08 model 4x4 - my vehicle struck on rear drivers side wheel by another driver (low speed impact). No panel damage. COuldn't see any damage then realised wheel at an angle and steering wheel offset to the right.

Car now been examined by engineer prior to insurance repair. I've been told it's rear subframe damage and that it's a "big piece of metal" that just slots in and no big deal. Also been told there's no chassis damage but this will only be confirmed 100% when the new part is fitted as it won't slot in if chassis bent.

Firstly, is this serious as i was expecting a snapped control arm or something similar given the low speed impact? Or is rear subframe a term used to cover any rear suspension damage, even if minor?

secondly, why can they not say for certain now that there's no chassis damage?

thirdly, can someone explain the repair process in laymans terms? Is it easier to replace a subframe on modern cars than to mess about with individual suspension components?

Just a bit paranoid that the damage isn't being under/over played.

Any advice/views much appreciated

Edited by doobus on 24/12/2008 at 09:30

General Question - subframe damage - Number_Cruncher
If the subframe and chassis have deformed together in the impact, it can be quite subtle, and difficult to see, and it is only when a new, undeformed subframe is offered up that any chassis deflection may be seen.

The suspension is connected to the subframe, which in turn is connected to the car body - this gives 2 opportunities for vibration isolation, and also allows the suspension to be assembled as one large sub assembly, and bolted up to the car as one unit. The subframe is a substantial piece of metal, and any undamaged suspension components will be swapped from your old subframe to the new one, and any damaged parts should be renewed.