Risk to cat - jud
On the engine oil filler cap there is a notice saying "To avoid damage to the catalytic converter do not over fill". I am aware of the back/front crankcase bearing seal scenario but how does the excess oil damage the cat?
Risk to cat - John Davis
Jud, I am no expert and this suggestion is only an opinion but, I do know that engine oil, getting through the exhaust system, does damage catalysts. Might the overfill warning be there to ensure that excess oil is not forced past the rings ? Crankcase compression, and consequent "pumping" of lubricant up the bores, should be minimised by an efficient breather device but, possibly, with excess oil in the sump, there could be a risk of some "blow by" in the cylinder bores.
Risk to cat - Cyd
quite correct John.
Risk to cat - jud
So if the engine has bore wear it could kill the cat? Even with the correct oil level?
Risk to cat - jc
Not just past the pistons-it can get thro' the crankcase ventilation system and be sucked into the intake manifold if the level is too high.There are phosphates in engine oil and these will eventually poison the cat if too many go down the exhaust.If a misfire is caused this will kill the cat.
Risk to cat - David Lacey
"So if the engine has bore wear it could kill the cat? Even with the correct oil level?"

Very much so, yes

MG-Rover Questions? Click on www.mg-rover.org
Risk to cat - Richard Turpin