Which Oil? Synthetic/Semi or Min - Carl
Can all cars run on synthetic?

Is synthetic the best choice for all cars? with semi being a compromise? or does it depend on the cars age?

Are the claims in other threads about some synthetics being too thin true?

Is there any benefit of using a higher grade oil (such as mobil1 etc) such as reduced wear, improved MPG etc?

For what age cars would fully syntheic be recommends, age for semi, and when would old fashioned mineral be prefered.
Re: Which Oil? Synthetic/Semi or Min - Buscy
Take a look in your local Halfords. They have a very useful display above their oil section. Its colour coded and tells which oil to buy for which type/age of vehicle.
Re: Which Oil? Synthetic/Semi or Min - Dave
I'm no expert but my view is use mineral and change more frequently.
Re: Which Oil? Synthetic/Semi or Min - J Bonington Jagworth
I agree - frequent changes are more important than type of oil. They carry a lot of debris, not all of which gets filtered, so it doesn't matter how advanced or expensive the oil, you can't just leave it in and expect it to go on working.

I think the chief advantage of the newer oils is that they provide the necessary lubrication at lower viscosities, which is generally a Good Thing, as the throughput (and cooling) increases and there is less drag. Consumption goes up, of course...
Re: Which Oil? Synthetic/Semi or Min - Brian Hosker