turning right at roundabout - Frank01
I have recently failed my motorcycle practical test, the reason given was that when I was turning right at a large roundabout I exited on the offside lane rather than cutting across and exiting on the nearside lane. I have been driving like this for 30 years and never had an accident. I did a strawpole at work and it seems most exit on the outside lane and then go into the left hand lane as soon as it is safe. I don't think it is safe as another driver who is going straight ahead would not appreciate me cutting in in front of him while I exit the roundabout. Any thoughts?
turning right at roundabout - Robin Reliant
If the nearside lane was clear and you could get to it without inconveniencing other traffic that is what the examiner would have expected you to have done. it does seem a bit pedantic to have failed you for staying in the offside, however, as it could not be considered to be in any way unsafe.

But that is the way the driving test has gone in recent years, which is why I quit the business. In response to all the "Make the test tougher" cries, often from those who do not know the first thing about it, examiners have had the ability to use their discretion in assessing whether a driver is safe or not replaced in favour of rigid marking system.

With the computerised analysys of test performances in this age they are also under increasing pressure to make sure their pass rates comply with the average for their particular test centre. This would be hotly denied by the DSA, but examiners will sometimes admit in private that there are times when they pick tough routes and mark hard and others when they back off a bit and give more leeway. It is impossible to give an opinion on your examiners decision without actually being there when your error happened, but it is not impossible that you were on the end of a double headed coin.
--