Rust protection on exhaust - Morpheus
Hi folks,

Since I seem to spend my life replacing section after section of the exhaust on my own or my GFs car, is there anything that I can put on it to prevent it rusting through?

I thought about some kind of grease, then I thought about some hammerite paint or something.... any suggestions, or do people not bother with this kind of thing....?

G
Rust protection on exhaust - milkyjoe
they rot from the inside out ,dont waste your money on paint or pattern parts , buy original replacement parts
Rust protection on exhaust - steveo3002
ive tried painting them in the past..it does very little to extend its life

you could look into a stainless steel version that will last a longggggg time
Rust protection on exhaust - piston power
Give the car a good run from time to time to expell moisture but as said they rust faster internally, genuine parts do last longer better quality steel/silencers..
Rust protection on exhaust - madf
I have some experience in this.

What I do is wirebrush to remove all lose rust, apply Kurust by brush to rusty bits, leave to cure and coat with alumium heatproof paint by brush.

Key parts are ALL welded seams/welded joins, welded clamps/brackets etc.

Touch up every second year.

SWMBO's rear box on Peugoet 106 is now 14 years old.

(based on experience with Mini ss exhaust where the non ss parts rusted through...:-(

Cheap non OE parts are fine if you only keep cars for under 3 years.. otherwise the better specs and quality of OE parts win through... they last longer (and often but not always ) work better..

I do NOT attempt this with very badly corroded parts as derusting may just expose very thin good metal to the elements. (Son's 1.1 Fiesta has original cat fitted : it's 14 years old and looks very rusty.. I've just left it and it has lasted his 4 years of ownership so far)