help - should I accept partial liability - stephsteph
Can anyone help with this? Insurance wrangle is dragging on and on. In February, a van driver pulled out of a T-junction, to turn right and drove straight into the side of my car - car a write off.
I was overtaking a bus at a bus stop with passengers getting on and off. I'm a careful driver, I took all the usual precautions, checked blind spot, signalled, etc and was alongside the bus when the other driver drove into me.
His insurance company have offered half the claim, saying I shouldn't have overtaken next to a junction. Ok, my mistake ... EXCEPT the bus stop was directly opposite the T-junction. It's a narrow, busy road, I was doing the usual thing, overtaking a stationary bus to keep the traffic flowing.
The other driver says the bus driver waved him on, yet in order to turn right, he would have had to drive along on the right hand side of the road until he passed the bus, before he could pull into the left. Also,the bus driver must have waved him on at the point where I was alongside the bus. The Highway code says "you must not cross or join a road until there is a gap large enough for you to do so safely".
I've taken photographs of the bus stop, as advised by my insurance company, has anyone any other suggestions? Should I just accept I was in the wrong too despite the bus stop being bang opposite a narrow T-junction? Accepting the half payout they are offering could affect my no - claims discount so there is little point in accepting anything.
If anyone has any constructive suggestions as to how to argue this I'd be really grateful.
Many thanks
help - should I accept partial liability - helicopter
Short answer - No.

The other persons insuurance are doing what all insurance companies do and dragging matters out in the hope you'll go away.

The half price offer is just that - an offer. Do not accept it . I think they are on dodgy ground here.