Two stroke oil - any difference? - martint123
Sorry, non-motoring, but petrol engine content.

I've just aquired a two-stroke petrol strimmer, no manual or stuff but I've found it should run on 40:1 two stroke fully synthetic oil.
Is there anything to stop me using fully synth normal car oil - I've got half a container of Halfords stuff left over from the last car oil change.
cheers
Martin
Two stroke oil - any difference? - Glaikit Wee Scunner {P}
I'm not an expert but two stroke oil is designed to mix with and burn along with the fuel without gumming piston rings up.
So no- four stroke oil will not do.
--
I wasna fu but just had plenty.
Two stroke oil - any difference? - GGH
Using 4 stroke oil in a 2 stroke engine might over time cause the spark plug to grow a carbon hair from the earth electrode to bridge the plug gap therefore stopping the spark.I don't know of any other problems.
GGH
Two stroke oil - any difference? - mjm
I used to run a SAAB 96 3 cylinder 2 stroke. Th dealer advice was one bottle of saab oil to 6 gallons, or 1 pint of straight 30 engine oil to 4 gallons. Not living close to a dealer, it lived on the 30 grade. It never siezed on me. I did find that Champion plugs were useless in it but Bosch were fine.
Two stroke oil - any difference? - Altea Ego
Ah, the smell of castrol R! nothing like it
Two stroke oil - any difference? - Cliff Pope
I've run strimmers, chainsaws, lawnmowers etc with all kinds of oil - it doesn't seem to make much difference. If it were brand new I'd follow the makers recommendations until out of guarantee.
I think with 2-stroke it is the petrol/oil ratio that is most important. They vary, irritatingly, so if you have several machines you may have to make up separate cans with a different mix in each.
Two stroke oil - any difference? - pmh