306 TD - Smoke - Fitz4x4
My sons 1994 306 TD suddenly lost power and started to smoke.
He drove it 2 mile to my house and when it got there it was blowing clouds of white smoke out of the exhaust.
At first I thought it was the head gasket but since speaking to a friend he has suggested it is more likly to be the Turbo.
What are your opinions?
How can I tell if it is the Turbo?
Any help is appreciated.
Thnks in advance.
306 TD - Smoke - richy
Normally on these engines when the HG does go it lets oil into the water. Sounds to me more like the Turbo oil seals, if so best to replace with one from a breakers rather than reconditioning the original. Has it already had the HG done? What's the mileage?
306 TD - Smoke - Martin1981
Hi There

Chances are its more likely to be the turbo. A head gasket failure is usually progressive rather than sudden, unless the engine overheats suddenly as a result of a huge loss of coolant or similar. I'm no mechanic as such but it could be the turbo oil seals that have failed or the turbo could have been starved of oil maybe as a result of a blockage in the oil feed pipe. If the oil is changed regularly and the level is not run low, the turbo should last a long time. My 1994 306TD has just turned 150k and still has the original turbo in and still works fine, although it smokes quite a bit when I accellerate sharply! If replacement is needed, you maybe lucky enough to get a 2nd hand one from a breakers quite cheaply.

Good Luck
Martin
306 TD - Smoke - sails north
its unlikely to be the turbo in my oppion. i'd advise a compression check because white smoke is indictive of unburnt diesel. so could be a valve/piston related issue
306 TD - Smoke - RichardW