Temp cure needed for broken head gasket - Daz
HI,

I understand there is something which can put in to the engine which will temporarily cure a failed head gasket as my car is blowing out a ton of steam and won't go anywhere at the mo.

Any advice much appreciated
Temp cure needed for broken head gasket - mark999
Hi,
I'm no expert but if it was my car I would stop using it and get it repared immediately. You cah do loads of damage to an engine if you run out of water and it overheats.
If you must keep using it take pleanty of water with you and be really carefull if you need to top up.
Temp cure needed for broken head gasket - madux
I understand there is something which can be put in to the
engine

I'm afraid it's called a new head gasket. Sorry.
Temp cure needed for broken head gasket - bka1
Try 'CarGo Seal-up', designed for just such an occasion.
Temp cure needed for broken head gasket - T Lucas
Remove the thermostat.
Temp cure needed for broken head gasket - v8man
Removing the stat simply makes the engine run cold and hence burn more fuel. There could also be oil getting into the cooling circuit and vice versa.

Change the head gasket and avoid the posibility of scrapping your engine.
--
\"Nothing less than 8 cylinders will do\"
Temp cure needed for broken head gasket - Stuartli
Are you sure you are not getting mixed up with something like BarLeaks, which is intended to seal a radiator/cooling system leak?

There are liquid/paste type products which, when used instead of a normal gasket, form a gasket themselves; however the proper product is much more preferable.
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
What\'s for you won\'t pass you by
To be honest, hacked off with the car as this is the second time in a year the head has gone. I want a temporary measure so that I can trade the car in (unethical I know) for another but then again dealers get all they deserve.
Temp cure needed for broken head gasket - Hugo {P}
Moving over to Technical Matters - Now