Carlton Air Con Faulty - bosshogg2004
Hi, can someone save my sanity?

I have a 92 Carlton Diplomat 2.0I and the air con is not working. It was like that when I bought the car. I have searched high and low for information including this forum.
What I do know is that 2 years ago the system was changed to R134a and the previous owner had a problem with the clutch not cutting in.
During Sept 02 he had the air con serviced and the fault was a bad earth on the compressor that was rectified by bypassing it. At the time the garage noted that the compressor was slightly noisy.
When I press the air con switch no light shows but there is a small change in engine revs.
The extra fan does not come on.
I have checked the fuse and am going to find and check the relays.
I dont want to pay £70 to have it re-gassed if there are other things it could be, also are these diy cans on eBay to be avoided or not.

Help Please!
Carlton Air Con Faulty - Dynamic Dave
Hopefully our resident A/C expert DaveN will be along shortly,

but in the meantime, if the light in the switch doesn't come on, that would suggest the system is low on gas.
I don't suppose you know whether or not the previous owner had an ultraviolet dye added when the system was converted to R134a by chance?

No, the invoice just says "Conversion Kit"
What I am looking for is information on how and what to diagnose, I am ok with a dvm and screwdriver.

Some info here on how to test for low gas pressure:-

www.honestjohn.co.uk/forum/post/index.htm?v=e&t=17...2
Carlton Air Con Faulty - frostbite
Regarding the diy cans, I think there was a discussion on those fairly recently and the consensus was 'not a good idea', but do a forum search if you want to read it all.
The discussion on diy cans is mentioned in the above thread that I just posted.
Just gone through that forum and I don?t think I will try myself, it seems to be fraught with danger. The other info has given me some things to try though.
Carlton Air Con Faulty - Dave N