Petrol / Electric Hybrids - Singer-G
Has anybody any experiences to report on the Toyota Prius or Honda IMA models? In particular, are the official fuel consumption figures actually achievable in real motoring?
Petrol / Electric Hybrids - VorlonSpy
This is my first posting on the forum, as I was pointed to this thread by a friend. Please, no flames!
I own a Honda Insight (their peculiar-looking 2 seater first generation hybrid car) and I have to say, I love the thing to bits. It definitely turns heads when I'm driving it around.
According to the onboard fuel consumption computer, the lifetime average of the car is an extremely respectable 68.5 miles per gallon, achieved over the last 17,000 miles or so. I admit that I'm an extremely light-footed driver (my petrolheaded friends say I drive like an old granny; I'm really a 32-year-old male!). I'd say that I do roughly half-and-half "urban" and "motorway" driving by mileage.
The only real complaint I've had against my car is its peculiar covered-rear-wheel design. The rear wheels are not in line with the front wheels, this makes the handling a bit peculiar and parallel parking is nigh-on impossible (I have a LOT of scuff marks on the wheel trim and the aerodynamic rubber trim around the bottom of the car from pavement scrapes). That and an extreme reluctance to go up steep hills or accelerate when at speed are the only issues I've ever had.
Still, with those fuel consumption figures I'm one of the very few people in the land who actually cheers at oil/petrol price rises; other people with fuel-guzzling bad driving habits will be discouraged from the road.
Honda Insight - Singer-G
Thank you for the information. The Insight is certainly a distinctive looking car. I quite like it. The only problem is a two seater would be no good to me.

Its interesting to note that despite a light right foot you get only 68.5 mpg. By most standards this would be excellent, but it does fall short of the official combined figure of 83 mpg.