Do spoilers work - Civic8
I have had one or two questions regarding do spoilers work.I gather on small cars that.they don`t and are purely there for looks.in some cases are there to help the cars fuel economy if it so needs it.
My question is if a spoiler is installed upside down will it cause the car to lift off the road.Not litteraly but take the weight off the road wheel.so causing a loss of traction on rear wheels.I am no expert on spoilers.
Do spoilers work - Rob C
Spoilers create a downward force which is used the press the rear wheels into the tarmac thus increasing traction through fast corners, i.e. very fast 100mph plus, thus keeping the driving wheels driving.

Not much use on the majority of modern road cars, being FWD and of course legally restricted to 60mph on a good A-road (the sort of road that would include fast corners where one could lose the back end at high speed)

My own Supra has a huge spoiler but its shape and profile is quite rounded, so I suspect it provides no aerodymanic benefit. Look at the spoilers on F1 cars to see the real thing.

I also suspect the spoilers used on BTCC cars are more cosmetic than useful, and they look quite like the sort of thing available to boy racers, available thru sponsors Halfords.
I await to be shot down on that one though.
Do spoilers work - smokie
Mech - if you are thinking of my reply to a post in discussion, that was purely tongue in cheek. The guy was talking about his 16" alloys etc and poor grip at speed.

However, there must become a point where a spoiler becomes a wing, and generates uplift. Or maybe an inverted spoiler would have the same effect. I don't know, aeronautics is not my field.