New Motor Tradered Info, please - cookie
Hi
I am seriously thinking of starting up as a proper motor trader! I have been buying and selling cars privately for a few months now, and making a few quid at it. I need to 'do it right' now, as a local auction house, only deals with buyers with a VAT number. Becoming VAT registered is not a problem and I have quotes for Trade Insurance, but if I declare my self as a trader:

1 Do I need to offer any kind of warranty with the car?
2 What if the car dies the day after I sell it! Selling privately, the cars have been Sold as Seen so I have never really concerned myself with what happens to it when it is sold. But as a trader, I can see this would be different?

I have a guy that will service the vehicles, I can do the HPI checking and I was considering providing an RAC inspection on the cars I sell. (For buyer piece of mind)
It is really important to me that I do this right as hopefully I can turn this into my full time job.
I would like to hear from anyone that is already doing this, as there is probably a load more questions I should be asking!

Any advice you could give me on this subject would be great.

Regards,
Andy Cooke
New Motor Tradered Info, please - Jonathan {p}
Plenty of people who can help here.

In UK law you have to provide a 3 month warranty with every car.

You could either decide to take any claims on the chin, or buy a policy for each car you sell and add that onto the costs.

Good Luck

Jonathan
New Motor Tradered Info, please - Altea Ego
Is this going to be run from home? If so you will need to check with your mortagage lender who may wish to charge you a commercial rate, and the local council who may take exception to the change of domicile use. Yes you could probably get away with both for quite some time, possibly for ever, but it only takes one disgruntled punter who thinks he has bought a lemon to wreak revenge.....................
New Motor Tradered Info, please - blank
Andy: