Car drivers have to pass a test to ride moped? - Routemaster93
Ok I passed my full UK car driving test in 2005, in 2008 I passed a bus and lorry driving test.

I decided it would save me money and be easier if I got myself a little moped to drive to the bus depot and let my missus drive my car while I'm at work. Great what could be simpler than that? So I enquired and found that I have to pass a test to ride a little hair drier on wheels! Had I passed my driving test before 1/2/2001 I'd not need to do this compulsory training!

It's clearly a stupid rule. In any case how is someone who passed their car test before 31/1/2001 magically more competent to ride a moped, but if you passed it after 2/2/2001 you're classed as incompetent to ride without training??? Typical government stupidity! Or is it to make more money? No doubt that's a factor.

I've been driving for over 10 years, I can drive a 15 metre long bus and an 18 wheel lorry, Yet I need training to ride a hair drier moped on wheels! I've not ever had a single penalty point to my name!

I mean is it not better to encourage more car drivers on to mopeds to reduce congestion and pollution? Surely having to take training, book time off for that course and pull out money etc is going to deter drivers from getting a moped. And is it fair that other drivers are excuse this expense and fuss? Why can't they just let all car drivers ride a moped without this fuss or at least those who've held a car licence for at least 2 or 3 years?

In Ireland you can ride a moped on a car licence as you can in Australia, New Zealand, Canada and most European countries.

Well done for losing the common sense award DVLA!

Edited by Routemaster93 on 10/12/2016 at 22:13

Car drivers have to pass a test to ride moped? - bathtub tom

Ever thought about a push bike?..........................;>)

Seriously though, it's a damn sight warmer pedalling in cold weather than sitting still out in the open.