Land Rover Freelander 2 - WARRANTY CLAIMS AND REPAIRS - pinklady741

Hi I am completely new to all this and hope i am in teh right place and would really like some help and advise.

I have recently had to have an inspection of my car for warranty, The car cut out within seconds of starting and moving off from 1 to 2 gear, loss of power and steering. the result after inspection was the engine manifold butterfly flap had come away and travelled through the engine in the process shearing the manifold rod.

Can someone confirm help confirm if this is common or not or if this is a servicable component of the car?

car is a 2007 freelander 2 TD4

thank you in advance

Land Rover Freelander 2 - WARRANTY CLAIMS AND REPAIRS - elekie&a/c doctor

Are you saying the flaps/linkage have been ingested into the engine and caused damage?This engine is a Ford/peugeot combined design and used in many other cars.Can't say it's a common problem ,but it is not a serviceable part.

Land Rover Freelander 2 - WARRANTY CLAIMS AND REPAIRS - pinklady741

Hi Elekie&a/c,

Yes they have been ingested. they broke from intake 4 and found in base of intake 1.

I have been told by warranty company that the probelm was down to end of life of the component ( the Inlet manifold), now i am no expert and i have read everywhere, there is no reference to service of or repair/maintenance of this part which would have prevented this occouring.

Land Rover Freelander 2 - WARRANTY CLAIMS AND REPAIRS - RobJP

Much like wheel bearings, these parts do occasionally wear out and break. They aren't generally serviced / replaced, as it's impossible to tell when (or even if) they will ever wear out on a particular car.

If it was commonplace, then you'd expect to see a number of incidents recorded here :

www.honestjohn.co.uk/carbycar/land-rover/freelande...d