Ford C-Max titanium ecoboost - Fuel mpg - Organic66
Have recently bought a new petrol Cmaxx, chosen for MPG but am shocked at how poor this is. I am a careful and experienced driver and the best I can achieve is 33.6 rather than the 55.4 official data. Is there any data on how many miles I need to drive before ( if ever) I get a decent MPG. I am worried as my car costs have escalated and I wish to complain to Ford and the dealership. Any advice please would be gratefully received
Ford C-Max titanium ecoboost - Fuel mpg - RobJP

Sorry, but forget any complaint.

The ONLY fuel economy data that the dealership / Ford can give you, BY LAW, is the result of the 'official' test.

Various people have been complaining for a number of years that the 'official' mpg and real mpg - for almost all cars - are horribly divergent. This (and other) websites operate a system where people can record their real mpg, to inform other potential future buyers.

www.honestjohn.co.uk/realmpg/ford/c-max-2010

A small amount of research by yourself BEFORE buying the car would have shown you a more accurate picture.

Ford C-Max titanium ecoboost - Fuel mpg - skidpan

I am a careful and experienced driver

You say that but it does not always equate to being an economical driver. My dad was careful and experienced but when he handed us his Micra when he stopped driving we immediately got 5 mpg more than he did in exactly the same usage.

And that brings me to another issue, you do not say how you use the car. Rush hour stop-sart traffic will eat more fuel than 50 mph rural drives.

Ford C-Max titanium ecoboost - Fuel mpg - Engineer Andy

I am a careful and experienced driver

You say that but it does not always equate to being an economical driver. My dad was careful and experienced but when he handed us his Micra when he stopped driving we immediately got 5 mpg more than he did in exactly the same usage.