VW Passat 2.0 TDI 58 Plate - Rough gear change when cold - aces4al

Hi all I recently bought a 58 plate passat 2.0 tdi, the problem is that when I go to change gear from 1st to 2nd I get a big jolt when I dip the clucth. The problem seems to be when the engine is cold and eases as the engine warms up though not totally gone. As i'm new to owning a vw i don't know if this is a common issue or not or is it just cause the engine is cold or is it just me releasing the clutch too quick? although I don't think it's that. I have looked a bit on the net but i cant really find anything other than the engine mounts or the gearbox oil could either need topping up or its the wrong one. Can anyone help shed some light on this please?

VW Passat 2.0 TDI 58 Plate - Rough gear change when cold - RobJP

Clutch knackered. DMF (dual mass flywheel) knackered. Those are probably the most likely suspects.

Gearbox oil is a possibility, as are mounts, but a lot less likely.

VW Passat 2.0 TDI 58 Plate - Rough gear change when cold - Railroad.

I agree with the above. Dual mass flywheel most likely worn and needs replacing.

is the dmf a big fix?

It's next to the clutch. The work involved in replacing the DMF involves taking the clutch out too, so usually if you're doing one, you do the other at the same time (minimal extra labout involved with doing both).

If you've got to ask if it's a big fix, then it's probably a garage job rather than a DIY job.

As to why it needs doing, and what it is ... DMFs are put into (mostly) diesel engined cars to absorb the torque shock to the gearbox. Without a DMF, modern diesels can rip apart the internals of gearboxes. So it's a sacrificial part. As to how long they last, it all depends on how the car is driven, and the type of DMF it is. Different manufacturers use different methods of building DMFs. All wear out eventually, but far cheaper to replace a DMF than a gearbox.