ESTATE CAR 2009 ONWARDS - Stuck with decision. - WolfGirl72

I am in need of some feedback if there are any owners or input.

I have £7500k to buy used car that has to tick following boxes.

ESTATE or MPV type - 3 kids and 3 large dogs - Economy good as motorway miles and school run too - upto 5yrs old but pref within 4 - comfy, reasonable mileage (but what is reasonable on a DIESEL or PETROL?) Should I look at Diesel or petrol?

Good Insurance & Road Tax.

I do average of 120 motorway miles a week and 80 about town/school run.

Hoping to atleast get upto 1.5k knocked off but I am new to this so not holding my breath ;-) dont have a car to Part ex as one have is on its last miles.

I have looked at, Ford Mondeo, V50 & V70 Volvo, Mercedes, BMW, Vauxhall Insignia...

I now feel when I visit a lot to look at some just baffled as like so many, but it has to last me for around 5+yrs to upgrade.

Be really grateful for any input/help.

;-)

Edited by WolfGirl72 on 07/04/2014 at 14:25

ESTATE CAR 2009 ONWARDS - Stuck with decision. - gordonbennet

Avensis, 1.8 petrol nearly as good on fuel as the Diesel, CVT auto is excellent if you want an auto.

Electric parking brake though, otherwise one would be on our drive.

Petrol engined of most makes will be higher VED than Diesel, but generally a simpler engine and likely not be as horrendously expensive should anything go wrong.

Kia Ceed estate surprisingly roomy too, might just be big enough, and don't ignore Honda Accord.

Edited by gordonbennet on 07/04/2014 at 16:07

Thank you, will look at these. However, I dismissed the Avensis as drive Shogan and I find Toyota's very uncomfortable to drive & passenger. But many thanks.

ESTATE CAR 2009 ONWARDS - Stuck with decision. - skidpan

We have a Ceed Estate (they call it the SW). Very roomy load area but the rear seat space is less than cars such as the Mondeo.