KIA Magentis - To buy or not to buy? - pinheadplanet

I just went to pick up my new (2007) Kia Magentis (2.7 V6 Auto) having had a good test drive a few days ago. But as I went to drive it out of the showroom it squealed like a little pig, well actually it was more like a great big huge pig! Really loud and sustained. It certainly didn't do this when we went for a test drive.

I'm not going to go into the garage's reaction too much but it would appear they were aware of this and tried to deceive me, but they've said they will try to fix it and didn't know why it was doing that now. They did try to spray some lube on the pulleys and belts but that did nothing. One of the pulleys didn't seem to be running true and was little wobbly, which made the belt move left/right.

I'm not a mechanic so I don't know what it is but I did have a similar occurrence on an Alfa, which was possibly a bent crankshaft???

I have already got all of my money back after having to fight for a refund.

Question is do I still buy it once 'fixed' or do I leave it well alone?

KIA Magentis - To buy or not to buy? - gordonbennet

No idea on the fault, other than i really like Magentis and its sister Sonata, both underrated cars IMO.

If you felt uneasy at the dealers reaction and actions before you even drove away then i think you have your own answer, me i'd find another car and dealer.

Did you check the VED costs before agreeing to purchase, no scratch that its only £270 a year, just scrapes in under the big one, phew.

Edited by gordonbennet on 19/12/2012 at 21:34

At another dealer the same car, same year, more miles, worse condition is £900 more!

This is my problem, it's a nice car at the right money!

Edited by pinheadplanet on 19/12/2012 at 22:02

KIA Magentis - To buy or not to buy? - Chris M

Well now you know why it was cheap!

Dealer knew there was a fault and priced it to get shot.

KIA Magentis - To buy or not to buy? - jamie745