57 plate Golf GT TDI 170 - Time for a cambelt change? - Golftango

Hi, I'm a newbie :). My local VW dealer phoned me yestereday wanting me to spend money which I havent got. I havent had the car for a year yet, its only done 35K and they informed me it was overdue its cambelt change. I was surprised and said the cars only done 35k, surely its good until 70k. Comments/thoughts please, is this just a VW scam wanting people to spend money. To top it all they ended the conversation with 'is there anything else we can help you with', I said I never wanted any 'help' from them in the first place, it was them that rang me!

57 plate Golf GT TDI 170 - Time for a cambelt change? - daveyjp
Belt changes are due at set mileages or after a certain period of time. VW change period is currently five years so it is due. Your service handbook should give full details.

If you do low miles it adds significantly to running costs.
57 plate Golf GT TDI 170 - Time for a cambelt change? - 659FBE

This debate will run and run - because VAG UK have (possibly deliberately) made the position unclear. My own interpretation of this is that they are not trading in the best interests of their customers, but each will have to make his mind up...

My advice is as follows - and is purely an opinion. Firstly, read carefully the printed sevice book provided with the vehicle. Ignore any scrappy bits of paper stuck in, or sourced from the dealer. Take the printed belt change recommendations as an absolute maximum.

If you are stisfied with what you find (in the case of my own VAG diesel it was an 80k mile change interval with no stipulated time limit), run a check on Google on an international basis (the American sites are the best, as their customers are more confrontational and investgative) and check that your particular engine has no undue record of premature failure. Note that engines are specific to markets.