VW T5, Ford Transit, Renault Trafic, Mercedes Vito - Which van for a windsurfer? - mouton

Hi all,

I need some recommendations on vans, since I have no experience of them! My boyfriend and I need something that we can fit a bed in, plus a load of windsurfing kit. It has to be able to do the miles and get up those coastal hills. It also needs to be fairly efficient if it gets driven to work when the other car is in use (mostly motorway, but 40 mins each way). Therefore, a low-profile roof and a shorter wheel base is probably going to be best.

We'd like it to last a good few years, and not immediately succumb to rust in the sea air.

I saw from another thread that most people rave about the VW Transporter but say that the Mercedes isn't very good.

What about the other models out there? How does the builders' favourite, the Transit, compare? I see that it tends to be a bit cheaper second-hand, which is always good, but does anyone here have experience of it?

Any other suggestions/recommendations welcome :-)

VW T5, Ford Transit, Renault Trafic, Mercedes Vito - Which van for a windsurfer? - No FM2R II

Random thoughts;

You need height. I always used a Transit Hi-Top. Two reasons, you will want to stand to change, and you will want the bed on top of the kit. You don't want the kit getting the bed and you wet.

You'd be better to buy a cheaper van and a cheaper run about for commuting. Packing and unpacking kit is a pain, parking a van full of kit is dodgy.

Any van you buy will not last long as it will have salt water inside and out. So unless you are somponsored buy seriously secondhand.