New Polo Mud Flaps...? - frmarcus
Dear HJ at al: It's absurd that new cars don't come with flaps. I'd like them for my new Polo and am happy to fit myself. Two questions: should I get VW's own and fit them?; if not, what generic would you recommend? I don't want to drill into the chassis (I'm no car mechanic) and would like to avoid metal-to-metal if poss. Halfords has a brand that avoids the need for either - but whether they're any good...

Many thanks indeed.
frmarcus
New Polo Mud Flaps...? - Dynamic Dave
IMHO, the VW ones should fit and look a whole lot better than any universal fitting aftermarket brands.
New Polo Mud Flaps...? - DavidHM
What exactly is the point of mud flaps?

My mother had a Mark II Fiesta with them and one of the many places it rusted (including inside the rear windows) was where the mud flaps were attached to the body.

Now that cars are galvanised and have 12 year anti corrosion warranties, is there any point in fitting them? The back arches should no longer be a problem for rust (Cavalier style) and while they might keep a bit of mud off the bodywork, if the car is dirty enough for there to be a noticeable difference, you can't care that much about its appearance anyway.

Unless someone can prove me wrong anyway.
What exactly is the point of mud flaps?

Ever followed a lorry with defective mud flaps?
A couple of things I can think of straight away,
1. it's to help prevent you from spraying the car behind you with water and loose chippings from the road surface.
2. They help to keep your rear window cleaner.

I must admit to not having any fitted to my Vectra, but the rear bumper has quite a large overhang, so it doesn't kick up much crap off the rear wheels anyway. Other cars with the rear wheels right in the corners (Mini's & Polo's for instance) I hate following unless they've got mudflaps fitted.