2k to spend advice please - ds58

hi guys, be gentle with me its my first time!, i`m looking to downsize from a kia sorento, reasons low mpg high tax etc, i`ll have 2 k to spend, i`m a big chap who likes the all the whistles and bells of top spec cars, i`m thinking of a mondeo ghia x dont know petrol or diesel , a mazda 6 ts2 or a renault scenic 1.9dci dynamique, any help?, thanks

2k to spend advice please - Bobbin Threadbare

If you're buying a Mazda 6, buy a petrol one. I have a 2005 TS and it has a nice level of kit including climate control and a lovely Bose stereo system, which is excellent! Tax is middling, insurance is quite low. Mine has just ticked past 99k on the clock and it drives beautifully.

Petrol or diesel is a mileage question, as even without the DPF to go wrong, it would seem that a petrol car copes far better with mixed or town driving.

2k to spend advice please - ds58

thanks Bobbin much appreciated.

2k to spend advice please - jacks

Agree about the Mazda 6 petrol. I had one - not a single thing went wrong and it felt like it would run on to high mileage without problem.

At £2K level your highest cost of ownership is going to maintainance/repair bills rather than tax & fuel so buy the best condition car from the most reliable manufacturer.

Mazda 6 1.8 or 2.0 petrol have a reputation as very reliable cars with very few problems

Make sure it has a FSH - it's every 12500 on the petrol ones, avoid the diesel (troublesome) and obviously AVOID AT ALL COSTS a Renault unless you want to make friends with your local AA/RAC man.

J

2k to spend advice please - unthrottled

At £2K level your highest cost of ownership is going to maintainance/repair bills rather than tax & fuel so buy the best condition car from the most reliable manufacturer.

I'm going to have to disagree on this. If you spend £1000 on a car without trying to greedy, it will probably work. Everything works on my car-and it's worth less than the tax disc!