Toyota Yaris - Viewing used car tomorrow - opinions/advice? - animalgirl

Hi lovely HJ folks,

Am going to view this 2005 Yaris tomorrow - http://www.adtrader.co.uk/greater-london/ealing/west-ealing/cars/cars-for-sale/toyota-yaris-1-3-vvt-i-blue-3dr-2005-66-500/58513343_110

I spoke to the owner, he told me: the MOT/Tax is valid until March, has FSH but he doesn't recall having the Aux belt changed. He's not aware of any faults or problems with it using up a lot of oil and is selling as he's starting a family..

What else should I be asking..?

Would anyone recommend a vehicle inspection?

I won't be able to test drive it tomorrow as I'm not insured (last car died/insurance cancelled), figure I'll have to get insured for a day (?!) - does anyone have experience of short term insurance?

As ever, thank you for any advice you can give. Feel like a total noob!

Toyota Yaris - Viewing used car tomorrow - opinions/advice? - madf

Read the HJ review.. very detailed...

Auxiliary belt will easily last 100k miles/10 years.. it's very tough.

Watch rear exhasut box - they corrode.

As does petrol filler pipe.. under rear wing and into tank.

Anti toll bar bushes at front wear - look for splits £50 parts from Toyota.

Check clutch for engagemnet and no vibrations when starting.

Start engine from cold. There should be NO rattles from it..

Alloys corrode..

Check all warning lights especially Engine and ABS work when switch on ignition and then go out. No lights = bulbs removed = walk away.

Very tough and if well serviced there should be no mechanical issues..(as I say read HJ article - we have two in family and parts of that were from my experiences)

Edited by madf on 26/10/2011 at 14:32

Toyota Yaris - Viewing used car tomorrow - opinions/advice? - Ethan Edwards

Well if nobody else is going to chip in....

Some general car buying things....