Ford Focus 1.8 TDCi Zetec 2007 (56) - Focus 1.8 TDCi turbo woes - m00se

Hello all - I've been reading these very helpful forums for ages but this is my first post so a) hello, and b) please be gentle :?

A bit of background: I'm not a mechanic, but I know which end of a spanner is which and I'm not afraid to take cars to bits to fix them. Having said that, I have taken a back seat with my current car and haven't done any major work on it (because I've never needed to). I've owned Rover 200s and a citroen zx in the past (for my sins) so I've spent a fair bit of time tinkering under the bonnets of those, but as far as the guts of a Focus goes I've got very little experience.

I have a 1.8 56-plate TDCi Zetec with about 83,000 on the clock (I've owned it since 32,000) and a few months ago I lost boost from the turbo. It had been working perfectly before then but one day I went to drive to work and there was just no boost. I checked the intercooler pipes and there were no leaks. After lots of faffing and checking and re-checking the pipework I could get to easily I eventually bit the bullet and took it to my local garage who changed the MAF sensor and the air filter to no avail, and then ended up charging me 300 quid to clean a load of crap out of the turbo :cry:.

Since then it has been boosting fine, but about three weeks ago I noticed a loud hiss from under the bonnet. This time there was a leak in the intercooler pipe quite near the turbo, which I sorted myself (quick swap job).