peugeot 106 1.5 diesel - Does this head gasket look ok? - liammcl

I'm no mechanic but I've had a go at taking the cylinder head off for a possible repair.

Woulld anyone be good enough to advise whether it's worth me spending £200 for a skim and parts etc, or is it for the scrapper.

Any ideas or tips would be appreciated.

I can't understand why the gasket looks okayish,

does this indicate a warped head or engine block problems?

The original problem was exhaust gases pressuring the coolant system even when cold,

as can be seen here.. www.youtube.com/user/TheLoonyl#p/a/u/2/jqMa85d0hqg

also, first thing in the morning it took a while to start, with smoke out the back,

after it had started , it was fine all day.

I've taken the gasket off, there are no breakages or holes etc,

but there are a few raised bits of the gasket.

i103.photobucket.com/albums/m147/liammcl_2006/2010...g

Are these normal?

The cylinder walls have a centimeter of roughness/gunk at the top of them,

and there is a bit of rust in 2 of them,

On the valves there's a fair bit of gunk

and a little chunk missing between the valves

There's lots more pictures here

s103.photobucket.com/albums/m147/liammcl_2006/2010/

The most I've done before this, is changing a wheel, so I may just put it down to experience..

It has been a very enjoyable time tinkering and learning things tho'

What do you think?

Many Thanks

Liam

Edited by liammcl on 25/04/2011 at 04:22

peugeot 106 1.5 diesel - Does this head gasket look ok? - Peter.N.

You certainly had pressurisation of the cooling system, the head gasket is the most common cause but occaisionally you can get a cracked head, the ammount of gas present would though point to the gasket.