any - A bargain 4x4 - AndyTheGreat

Everyone loves a bargain and with the increase in fuel prices and likely interest rate hikes I reckon there will be some bargains 4x4s to be had. Lots of people have bought these over the last few years who cannot really afford to run them and I reckon lots of them will flood the market this year (2011).

I'm giving serious though to getting one in the next few months, but to be honest I have little knowledge of whats out there so looking for some ideas.

Here are my criteria:

Budget - anywhere up to £25k

Would like a petrol V8

Running costs and off road ability of no concern as will be only used for low miles. Off road? Why would I want to go driving across muddy feilds?

Must be full on luxury spec with lots of toys.

Looking for something where someone else has taken the big depreciation hit, although I do accept that this sort of car will lose value fast.

So any ideas?

any - A bargain 4x4 - Avant

I should think most petrol-powered V8s will continue to take a big hit in depreciation, so if you don't want to go off-road you could widen your choice.

If it has to be a 4x4 and you don't need the mud-plugging ability of the Range Rover, think about a Porsche Cayenne or (better value) VW Touareg if you don;lt mind a V10 rather than a V8.

any - A bargain 4x4 - Lygonos

Or how about Plan-B

Merc CL/SL/S-Class to get the phat V8 petrol and luxury without the on-road deficiencies of the 4x4.

You might have change to buy some fake b**bs and a novelty policeman's helmet with flashing blue light if you really want to draw attention to yourself ;-)

any - A bargain 4x4 - gordonbennet
I imagine V8 petrol 4x4's will plummet in value, regardless of how deep your pockets are 13 mpg takes some living with.

Mind you there is a way to have your cake and eat it, thats by getting one that's already been LPG converted, should give you approx 20mpg in real terms, about the same as an equivalent Diesel model.