Mercedes 220CDI SE 6-speed manual estate - Mercedes Blue Efficiency - Azinbear

I am looking for a nearly-new Mercedes 220 CDI Blue efficiency SE 6-speed manual estate.

Can anyyone please advise me whether the claimed mpg figures for this car are anywhere near reality?

Are there any downsides to this car that are apparent from experience?

Where might be the best place to look for this car? I have tried Mercedes Direct, but they have nothing suitable at the moment. I am happy to try on-line brokers, etc, although i have never done that before.

I have a Skoda Octavia L&K estate 6-speed manual 2.0 diesel with full specification, 08 registered with 32000 miles as a trade-in or private sale.

Mercedes 220CDI SE 6-speed manual estate - Mercedes Blue Efficiency - Avant

Have a look at the Reviews section on this site (button at the top of the page). You'll find good and bad here.

One comment to watch particularly: "Serious issues with piezo injectors of 220CDIs cracking in later 2009. Many cars off the road for extended periods. Supply problems of replacement injectors, apparently made in Malaysia."

As one who has a Skoda having considered a C-class estate, I'd seriously question what you are getting for all that extra money apart from a badge. It's well worth trying the new CR 2.0 diesel in the Octavia or Superb - go for the 170 bhp version which is available in my Octavia vRS and all model trims of the Superb. You could have a new Superb manual estate (with a nicer gearchange) for less than a nearly-new Mercedes.

Edited by Avant on 14/08/2010 at 19:19

Mercedes 220CDI SE 6-speed manual estate - Mercedes Blue Efficiency - RicardoB
I would tend to agree with the above comment and question. I also agree that the current C-Class range make lovely cars, but really, it's the badge that costs!

I was looking at a new Superb estate the other day, and I have to say I think it looks superb!!
Mercedes 220CDI SE 6-speed manual estate - Mercedes Blue Efficiency - SteveLee