1992 Vauxhall Astra 1.4I 8v SOHC - NormanB
1992 Vauxhall Astra 1.4I 8v SOHC (1992 110,000 miles)

Hi – new to the forum so please go gentle with me. I am not a professional mechanic and do DIY through necessity not enjoyment and consider myself reasonably competent although this little tale may prove the undoing of that!

The above car has been in the family seven years and has just been handed back by No.1 son – it has seen him through university and he wants a proper car! Needless to say he has not really looked after and No.1 daughter who is 17 in January is the next candidate ‘owner’.

On initial running checks noticed engine running cold as indicated by dash temperature gauge. Verified with infra red thermometer that gauge was accurate and engine was indeed running cold – and therefore diagnosed thermostat as duff. Consulted Haynes manual (my only source of technical reference) and the dawning realisation that this was not going to be a 30 minute job (took me less than this on my W124 Merc). Purchased the stuff – thermostat, new cam belt, cam cover cork gasket and a water pump setting tool !!!!. Completed job after also changing water pump and the back hose because I thought I have gone this far – I do not want to be going here again soon!

Had a bit of fun (not) farting about getting the cambelt tension correct and got the whole lot together after also changing engine oil/filter and recharging coolant circuit with 50/50 antifreeze mix.

Engine turned over fine by hand without resistance (turned over many times while doing belt tension). Attempted start – engine cranked but did not fire!! (Eeek).

Turned engine over by hand so that camshaft at TDC for No1 power stroke – checked timing back on crankshaft pinion – Eeek crankshaft pinion was 1 or 2 teeth retarded. I do not know how the hell this happened I thought I had been scrupulously careful. I obviously had suffered a brain fart or something.