07 1.6 Windscreen washer sediment - Pete Mansell
I was surprised when both back and front windscreen washers stopped working on my 2 year old Focus. The problem was sediment and gunge in the reservoir which had blocked the filter. Unfortunately this is quite hard to get to, located under the wheel arch and behind the arch liner. The odd shape also made it tricky to clean the stuff out.

I've been playing with cars for over 40 years, and never had this problem before. I admit that over the years I have rarely added any washer additive, but why should I suddenly get this problem with a 2 year old car? In future I will try to remember to use an additive that will hopefully keep the system clean.
07 1.6 Windscreen washer sediment - Dave_TD
On the MkI Mondeo the trick was to stir the washer reservoir with a piece of garden cane. Or you could try aiming a jetwash lance down the filler neck to swirl all the gunge around? The only other answer would be to keep the reservoir reasonably topped up all the time, rather than filling it 2 or 3 times a year.
07 1.6 Windscreen washer sediment - bell boy
i wonder if i put some plankton in the water this would eat the gunge
i know a bio chemist out of a job
this time next year he might be a millionaire
and wave to me as he drives by :-(
so im not going to tell him
that"ll learn him
In the good old days the washer bottle was a simple container under the bonnet. In the Focus, and I suspect most modern cars, it is a complicated plastic container, a very weird shape about 2 foot long designed to fit under the wing. In position, you can't get into it to mechanically clean it. Even when taken out, internal access is pretty hard, poking through 2 very small holes.
07 1.6 Windscreen washer sediment - Ben 10
Have had a number of Mk1 and Mk2 focuses and never had this problem.
Are you in a hard water area? Have you been using tap water? If so use HFs ready mix or dilute screenwash with distilled water. Should cure your gunge problem.