Headlight dazzling - SteelSpark
I am still getting to grips with my Mondeo (09 reg) and one of the issues is the headlights. I have been doing quite a bit of driving at night recently and have been getting a few complaints abot dazzling people (one guys shouted "turn your lights down", one guy was waving when I stopped behind him and I have had a few flashes and honks that I reckon are related).

The only controls I have are the dial to switch between off-side lights-headlights, the ability to switch to full beam and the headlight levelling.

I have tried using side lights, but they are definitely too weak for driving in the city at night but then I get the complaints about the head lights. The lights are definitely not on full beam.

When I am driving I can see that my lights are lighting up signs that the lights of other cars aren't, so there is clearly something wrong, even though they don't seem brighter than other cars.

So tonight I started playing with the headlamp levelling. The manual says that with just the driver it should be on 0-0.5, however at that level I seem to be illuminating the signs that other aren't.

So I have now switched it to 4 which is the highest setting and which seems to set the lights much lower, I am guessing that it was just the height rather than the brightness. No complaints tonight as far as I could tell, so hopefully that fixes the problem, but I just wanted to see if anybody had any advice.

Headlight dazzling - kithmo
Have you got any weight in the boot, e.g tools etc ?
Are your tyre pressures ok ?
If you are not carrying extra weight and your tyres are ok it may be worth getting the beam alignment checked, also check that the headlights and/or bulbs are correctly seated.