Valuing an MX5.. - legacylad
I have been considering an MX5 for a few years now, waiting for prices to drop, and now have the opportunity to buy a 2 year old folding hardtop, which is for sale locally from a private seller, as an early wedding present for ourselves.
I shall run it as my sole car, covering less than 10k miles pa, whilst the future SWMBO has a company Passat which we normally use at weekends.
Being of short arms and deep pockets, spending this kind of money brings me out in a cold sweat. I hate to waste the time of garages many miles away asking them for their 'best price' with no p/ex, so please can anyone here provide me with Glass's private sale price.
The spec is '57, 2.0 Sport 14k miles. One careful owner in excellent condition. I may well need to buy 2 or 4 new Bridgestone Potenzas, and shall have to fit a towbar! I appreciate that prices may fall further as we go into the winter months, but probably less so for this model.
Valuing an MX5.. - rtj70
folding hardtop

Not made of metal though. But still fun cars.
Valuing an MX5.. - dsuk81
I believe s towbar on a mk3 is illegal...
Valuing an MX5.. - maz64
www.honestjohn.co.uk/forum/post/index.htm?v=e&t=77...7
Valuing an MX5.. - RobertyBob
I think prices on MX-5s may have firmed a little.

We bought our 2.0l soft-top brand new in February. I saw a similar second-hand one on our dealer forecourt this week with a sticker price of £1k more than we paid.

As said above, MX-5s are not designed to take tow bars.
Valuing an MX5.. - Pugugly
Cracking cars - friend bought a MX5 Sportech (rag top) in September (new) - no discount from dealer (!) - Autotrader and e-bay to test for prices. Getting a car from a private and known seller is priceless - it'll still have a warranty. Worry about the twobar after you've got it....
Valuing an MX5.. - martint123
I think the Mk1 (pop up headlights) was type approved for a towbar or an approved towbar was manufactured. Mines nearly 20 years old now and no issues really.