06 1.8 tdci what to look out for - ilsonlad
hi newbie here . I`am thinkin of buyin a Ford focus 1.8 tdci lx 06 plate what i`ve seen , but looking for any info what to look out for . The car has done 63 k , would the cambelt need doin , are the water pumps nornally ok and any other major things to look out for , suspension etc ? looking foward to any info wouldd be great .
ilsonlad

Edited by Pugugly on 01/11/2009 at 14:25

06 1.8 tdci what to look out for - Peter.N.
If it has a dual mass flywheel make sure that the clutch is working smoothly and there is no engine vibration.
06 1.8 tdci what to look out for - ilsonlad
thanks peter n. just been looking about the mass fly wheel and my goodness what a lot to take in . This looks very costly if it needs to be done . mmmmm might look at the astras instead , bit then again are most modern cars have this mass fly wheel ???

Edited by Dynamic Dave on 01/11/2009 at 18:18

06 1.8 tdci what to look out for - neil147
Avoid this car like the plague unless you are a millionairre. The engine is a common rail diesel engine. Made so complicated that as soon as it goes wrong it seems you have to replace just about every part of the car to get to the root of the problem. I have this car- so far in 8 months- new battery, starter motor, dual mass flywheel( £900), glow plugs all been replaced. Now it's gone wrong again, engine cuts out whilst driving along at various speeds, engine management light flashing, poor starting from hot and cold. Now being told problem may be injectors. Set of 4 £1000 plus vat plus labour. Or maybe fuel pump.
All in all, this is the most unreliable car i have ever owned. The best diesels in my opinion are peugeot. I've had 2 406 hdi diesels. Took them both to over 200,000 miles with no major problems at all, just the usual wear and tear that you would expect like brakes etc. VW are also pretty good. Just avoid ford, as it seems they haven't got their diesel engines right at all.
SQ