06 1.8TDCi Locating turbo-intercooler pipe? - studarl
Hi, my Focus had the now seemingly common loss of power followed by Engine System Fault light the other night, and doesn't seem to have quite the same get up and go that it did previous to this.

So I took it into the local garage and they identified 2 faults that had been logged - one with the Turbo, and the other with the Fuel Pump.

Since I only bought the car back in August (having only covered 32000 miles) they thought one may have been carried over from before, so they said I should keep driving the car until it happens again, so they can diagnose a problem.

While I am not sure if this is good advice or not, I have been driving it (but not on long journeys - I am a gigging musician) and it just feels like something is wrong, but despite spending an hour pelting down a stretch of dual carriageway I cant get any real loss of power or lights to come on.

So I wonder if there is a crack in the pipe as mentioned in the honest john what to watch out for section of the Focus II listing, but since I know very little about cars I don't know where this pipe is.

Can anyone help with a diagram or description so I can check it if possible?

Could really do with getting this sorted out as I have lost all confidence in it, and feel like I ought to sell it (its my first car purchase - not a great experience!!!!) and go back to my dads old Fiat Brava which despite having a 1.2 litre petrol engine has never had any problems and only needed about £1000 worth of work in over 100,000 miles and 9 years.

Thanks

Stuart

Edited by Dynamic Dave on 08/10/2009 at 13:36

06 1.8TDCi Locating turbo-intercooler pipe? - MikeTorque
Since I only bought the car back in August (having only covered 32000 miles) they
thought one may have been carried over from before, so they said I should keep
driving the car until it happens again, so they can diagnose a problem.

They thought... ! (can't be bothered more like)