Buying an ex-fleet car with no v5/service history - prad44
Hello folks,
I'm planning to buy an ex-fleet car from a local dealer (car trader). This car comes with no V5 and no service-history. I had a look at the HPI report for that car and it says it has no previous keepers (which means that the dealer has repossessed it, but not a registered keeper).
Is it ok if for me to buy the car given it as no service-history nor logbook (given he says he'll fill V62)?
I'll be getting MOT, Tax-disc (valid) and two sets of keys along with the car. Is there anything else I should be getting? (like a copy of V62?)

Since I'm quite new to cars, I'm not sure if I should pay lot less for this fleet-car (with no service history) than the valuation i found on whatcar.co.uk.

Thank you

Edited by Pugugly on 23/03/2009 at 10:55

Buying an ex-fleet car with no v5/service history - Andrew-T
It should have a V5, as it must have belonged to someone. But (a) how old is it and (b) what is the mileage? It could quite properly have had no services at this stage. But as it is likely to be new enough to be within original warranty, make sure it is serviced in accordance before you buy.

But is it old enough to need a MoT (3 years)?

Edited by Andrew-T on 23/03/2009 at 11:43

Buying an ex-fleet car with no v5/service history - DP
As a bare minimum:

> Run an HPI check. Get the chassis number and reg number off the car yourself - don't trust anyone else to do it - especially the seller. With repossessions, sometimes the legal title to the car can be unclear. Any question marks on this, walk away.
> Phone the nearest dealer for the manufacturer of the car, and ask them to check if there's any official service history for the car. Manufacturer backed servicing for most makes is recorded on a central computer.