This site is becoming a resource hog [Read only] - Rattle
Sorry if I have put this in the wrong place.

Just on my slightly low spec laptop atm, Celeron 1.8 (Yonah core), 1GB RAM etc. It is a very typical laptop (I repair PCs for a living so I what the general public use and there are much older machines than this still in use).

My laptop is currently running slow, there is a high amount of processor usage and RAM usage from Firefox and it appears to be all the flash adverts on this site which is causing it.

I only have one website open and no plugins yet Firefox is taking up a massive 158MB of RAM.

I think HJ's admin need to be a little but more careful about the of adverts, a lot of sites have failed when they have overloaded as visitors just get fed up of the slowness. Some of these adds would also be much better as an animated gif, they would use so much less resources than flash adds.

The site is usually ok but with the combination of adverts I am getting now (from Renault) it a resource hog. My point is if you can't change the way the adverts work at the moment just make sure it dosn't get any worse in the future.

A content driven website which mades money from adverts only works if it was visitors, if the adverts stop the visitors from using the site then it becomes a problem. Just something to think about.

Once again maybe this post is better some where else? I am not sure. Edit part of the problem appears to be memory leaks but IE also suffers from that. Just reloaded HJ and it now works a bit better and the combination of adds are slightly different, so it seems certain combination of the flash adds make it a lot worse.

Edited by PoloGirl on 19/03/2009 at 18:19

This site is becoming a resource hog - L'escargot
With all due respect, I think it's up to HJ how he runs his business. I'm sure you wouldn't like HJ poking his nose into the way you run your business.
This site is becoming a resource hog - valmiki